Ugadi Offer ! Rs. 250 Off on Premium Membership ! Use Code: UGADI

Sahitya Akademi Award Winners of 2017 !!

By GovJobAdda, Bengaluru 2 months ago 1543 Views

Sahitya Akademi, India's national academy of letters, has announced its annual awards recognising the literary works of 24 writers writing in 24 Indian languages.

Seven books of novels, five of poetry, five of short stories, five of literary criticism and one of play and essays have won the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017.

Awardees List: 

In Hindi Category: Ramesh Kuntal Megh for his critique Vishwa Mithak Sarit Sagar.

In English Category: Mamang Dai's for his English novel "The Black Hill".

In Sanskrit Category: Niranjan Mishra for his Sanskrit novel "Gangaputravadanam".

In Malayalam Category: K P Ramanunni for his "Daivathinte Pusthakam" in Malayalam.

In Punjabi Category:  Nachhattar for his Punjabi novel "Slow Down".

In poets Category: Udaya Narayana Singh (Maithili), Shrikant Deshmukh (Marathi), Bhujanga Tudu (Santali), Inqulab (Tamil) and Devipriya (Telugu).

In short stories Category: Shiv Mehta (Dogri), Autar Krishen Rahbar (Kashmiri), Gajanan Jog (Konkani), Gayatri Saraf (Odia), and Baig Ehsas (Urdu).

In Literary criticism Category: Ramesh Kuntal Megh (Hindi), T P Ashoka (Kannada), Urmi Ghanshyam Desai (Gujarati), Bina Hangkhim (Nepali), and Neeraj Daiya (Rajasthani).

In Essay Category: Jagdish Lachhani (Sindhi).

In Play Category: Rajen Toijamba (Manipuri).

The award, given for books published between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2015, includes a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs 1 lakh.

All Static GK